Inaugural CMU Checkoff Board Assumes Office

Leaders for the first national CMU Checkoff Chosen in Historic Chicago Session

In a historic first session, the new board of directors for the CMU Checkoff were sworn into office by representatives of Department of Commerce. Longtime Checkoff proponent Major Ogilvie of Ready Mix USA will serve as the first official chairman of the new CMU Checkoff Board. Ogilvie has been leading the charge for the industry to adopt a national checkoff program since 2009. Kendall Anderegg, President and CEO of Mutual Materials, will serve as Vice-Chair, while Patrick Sauter, Vice President of King's Materials will fill the role of Secretary/Treasurer. Executive Committee members include Erik Absalon of Basalite and Rich O'Connor of Taylor Concrete Products.

officers/executive committee

Major Ogilvie


Kendall Anderegg

Vice Chair

Pat Sauter


Erik Absalon

Executive Committee Member

Rich O’Connor

Executive Committee Member

Board Members

Eddie Antonini

Dwayne Aucoin

Mike Finch


Sam Finney


Rocky Fizzano


Jim Gendron


Greg Gibbel

Gary Hensley

Melissa Kline

Mike Littrell


Ryan Ross

Sean Rustad

Brendan Quinn

Preston Sparkman

The CMU Checkoff was approved in a national vote of producers on December 22, 2021. One of the first responsibilities of the board will be establishing a start date for checkoff collections – a penny for every concrete block sold in the U.S. Checkoff leaders estimate more than $100 million will be invested into promoting the block industry in the first decade of the checkoff. One of the initial tasks of the new board will be determining an assessment timeline and protocol.

We're Moving Ahead!
Stay Updated on the checkoff's progress!

Design Escapes
The CMU Checkoff Initiative was created by producers frustrated with continual loss of market share. That frustration was compounded when program ideas surfaced that could drive demand, but there was no way to fund multi-year, well-funded programs that would change outdated perceptions of CMU.

Promoting CMU

© , Checkoff Transitional Advisory Council (CTAC)