Latest Update:

Augusy 31, 2022

Congratulations to the newly appointed CMU Checkoff Board of Directors. Twenty-One producers have been selected to serve on the Board as Voting or Alternate Directors. This is a momentous day for our industry and a huge step forward in building a better future for block.

The Department of Commerce (DOC) made the announcement on Tuesday after receiving more than 45 nominations from producers around the country. The inaugural Board will meet in the very near future. At its first meeting, the Board will launch initial operations, including the appointment of a Chair and Vice Chair of each Regional Advisory Committee (RAC) and determination of when checkoff assessments will begin.

Board seats are staggered in two-, three- and four-year terms, all of which end on December 31st of the designated year. Your Checkoff Board consists of the following producers:

Northeast Region

  • Brendan Quinn, Ernest Maier, Inc. (2024)
  • Heidi Jandris, Jandris Block (2025)
  • Rocky Fizzano, Fizzano Brothers Concrete Products, Inc. (2025) *
  • Richard O’Connor, Taylor Concrete Products, Inc. (2026)

Southeast Region

  • Major Ogilvie, CEMEX (Ready-Mix USA) (2024)
  • Preston Sparkman, Quality Block & Supply (2025)
  • Sam Finney, Tidewater Block (2025)*
  • Greg Gibbel, Best Block, a QUIKRETE® Company (2026)
  • Gary Hensley, Oldcastle APG, a CRH Company (2026)*

North Central Region

  • Melissa Kline, Consumers Concrete Corporation (2024)
  • Patrick Sauter, King’s Material, Inc. (2025)
  • Sean Rustad, Lee Building Products (2026)
  • Jim Gendron, Fendt Builder’s Supply, Inc. (2026)*

South Central Region

  • Ryan Ross, Block-Lite (2024)
  • Mike Littrell, ABC Block & Brick (2024)*
  • Dwayne Aucoin, State Block, Inc. (2025)
  • Mark Wilhelms, Midwest Block & Brick, a QUIKRETE® Company (2026)

West Region

  • Erik Absalon, Basalite Building Products, LLC (2024)
  • Michael Finch, RCP Block & Brick, Inc. (2024)*
  • Kendall Anderegg, Mutual Materials (2025)
  • Edward Antonini, Angelus Block Company, Inc. (2026)
Thank you to each and every one of you for all the work and sacrifices it has taken to get to this point. And the willingness of so many of you to serve on the CMU Checkoff Board of Directors. I look forward to working with you to grow the concrete masonry market throughout the country. If you were not appointed this round, I encourage you to consider participating in one of our RACs—please let me know if you or any others are interested.

Best regards,

Ray McVeigh
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We're Moving Ahead!
Stay Updated on the checkoff's progress!

Design Escapes
The CMU Checkoff Initiative was created by producers frustrated with continual loss of market share. That frustration was compounded when program ideas surfaced that could drive demand, but there was no way to fund multi-year, well-funded programs that would change outdated perceptions of CMU.

Promoting CMU

© , Checkoff Transitional Advisory Council (CTAC)